Swanage Town Council is the parish council for the town of Swanage, including the settlements of Durlston, Herston and Ulwell.

Its mission statement is to maintain and enhance Swanage for the well-being and prosperity of present and future generations.

The Town Council is one of three tiers of local government and works with Purbeck District Council and Dorset County Council to provide a wide range of services for residents and visitors alike.

The Town Council has direct responsibility for allotments, car parks, cemeteries, public gardens, children’s play areas, sporting facilities, the main beach, boat park, public conveniences, a Tourist Information Centre and the Town Hall.

Unlike the District and County Councils, the Town Council receives no direct government grant. It raises its income through the parish precept element of the Council Tax and the charges it makes for its services.

Dorset County Council is responsible for education, social services, highways and footpaths, libraries, and trading standards. More information can be found on its website www.dorsetforyou.com.

Purbeck District Council has responsibility for council tax, planning, environmental health, economic development and benefits. Refuse collection comes under the jurisdiction of Dorset Waste Partnership. More information can be found at www.dorsetforyou.com.

Decisions of the Town Council are taken by twelve Councillors elected every four years. The next election will be in May 2015. The Council’s decisions are implemented by the Town Council’s staff, headed by the Town Clerk, Dr Martin Ayres.

The Town Council encourages comments, queries and complaints regarding its services and invites you to e-mail us at admin@swanage.gov.uk.

Alternatively you can contact us by telephone 01929 423636 or fax 01929 427888, or write to us at:

The Town Hall, 
High Street, 
Dorset BH19 2NZ.

Between April and September the Town Hall offices are open to the public from 10.00 a.m. to 1.00 p.m. and 2.00 p.m. to 4.00 p.m. Monday to Friday. The offices close to the public at 3.00 p.m. between October and March.

Latest News

Posted By: Carole on 20/03/2014 12:00:
Swanage Town Council has announced an extension to its seafront stabilisation works.

Posted By: Carole on 14/04/2014 04:50:
The opening of Swanage Market will be later than usual this year.

lunette ray ban pas cher ray ban pas cher timberland pas cher chaussures timberland timberland femme pas cher chaussure timberland homme timberland femme pas cher timberland outlet uk timberland pas cher chaussures timberland timberland femme timberland homme chaussures timberland pas cher chaussures timberland femme pas cher chaussures timberland homme pas cher timberland pas chere